The Gardeners Of America
en's Garden Clubs  
Of America

Whats New
Mission Statement
Press Releases
Club Activities
Member Benefits
Youth Gardening
Member Clubs
Members at Large
Organize a New Club
Garden Shop
National Conventions
National Awards
Gardening From Heart
Photo Competition
Photo Album
Members Only
Contact Us






         Click to view your choice of Awards or scroll thru list:
          Note: Some winners to be posted later as available.

    Beautification Award (Home Garden)    
   Beautification Award (Organization)      
   Creativity Award
   Bill Hull Memorial Cup                                
   Environmental & Conservation            
   Gardening from the Heart                   

 George Spader Award                                      
   Honor Clubs                                         
   Johnny Appleseed Award 
    Scholarship Awards     
    Service Club Awards       
    Silver Medal   
    Spade Awards    
    Spade Club Awards
    Trowel Awards
    Trowel Club Awards
    Woodson K. Jones Memorial Award

Beautification Awards
(Home Garden):

       Maintained by member and family 
No Award in 2012

Beautification Award (Organization):
No Award in 2012

Bill Hull Memorial Cup:

Creativity Award:
        No Award in 2012
Environmental & Conservation
No Award in 2012
 Achievement Award:

         No Award in 2012
Gardening from the Heart:
          No Award in 2012

Top of page 
George Spader Award: 2012
       For the greatest percent increase in membership over the previous year:
       Gardeners of Saint Charles County (40.9 % increase)

  Honor Clubs:
  Membership increase information was not presented at the 2011 convention.
      Top of page                                                                       

Johnny Appleseed Award
          No Award in 2012

Newsletters: 2012
2011 Newsletter awards are here:

               Newsletter    Club or Region    Editor

Class A Club Award:   (101 + members)
   1st place:   No entries                     
Class B Club Award:    (51-100 members)                    
   1st place:    The Germinator, MGC Youngstown
                      Editor: David A. Campana

   2nd place:   El Jardinero, Gardeners of Tucson
                      Editor: Jacqueline A. Soule
   3rd place:   No entries

Class C Club Award:     (Up to 50 members)
    1st place:   Earthmen of Arlington, Arlington MGC
                      Editor: Richard K. Robledo
    2nd  place:  Flora Flash, Fort Wayne GOA
                       Editor: Margaret M. Faley

    3rd place:  The Seedling, Burlington MGC
                      Editor: Raymond Schwartz

Region Newsletters:
    1st place:  The Johnny Appleseed Broadcaster,
                     Central Great Lakes Gardeners
                     Editor: Joseph Alessi


    Top of page                                                                         

Photography: 2012
Best of Show Winners - 2012
   Best of Show:       Richard States   
                                Member MGC of Youngstown, OH
   Amanita flavoconia, Yellow Patches Mushroom
   1st  Runner-up:     Arabella S. Dane   Member at Large,
                                 Center Harbor, NH
   Rosa 'Cherry Parfait'   Grandiflora Rose

   2nd  Runner-up:    Helen Lynch  Member at Large,
                                 Countryside, IL
   Aquilegia   Columbine

   Sweepstakes Award:  Richard States   
                                Member MGC of Youngstown, OH
Click here to View Photos: Photography Competition Winners 

Top of page

Scholarship Awards: 2012
 Candidate                  University or College      
 Audrey L. Davis              University of MO - Columbia
 MO/KAN Region
 Joshua B. Henry             Ohio State University, ATI    
 Gardeners of Greater Akron & CGL Gardeners
 Erin E. Casey                   University of Missouri
 MO/KAN Region
 Justin D. Kondrat             Cornell  University
 Gardeners of Rome, NY
 Anna M. Clary                 Kansas State University    
 MO/KAN Region

Top of page      

 Service Club Awards:

This list was not presented in 2012


Top of page

  Spade Awards: 2012
  For recruiting the most new members:
     Honey Barnekoff - GOA Overland Park 
     Karen L. Clark - GOA Overland Park
     Luanne Davies - Emporia GOA
     John Lloyd - Gardeners of Van Wert County
     Bob McGowan - MGC of Youngstown 
     Bill McPherson - MGC of Youngstown
     Ardis Noonan - Gardeners of Tucson
     Sherra Schuck - GOA Overland Park
     Amby Stevenson - Richmond Heights GC
     Charlene Wetzsteon - GOA Overland Park
     Alan Gage - First MGC of Dallas (3 new members)
     Ronald  Bare - Rockford GOA (4 new members)
              Special Recognition - most new members
     Kathy Tidwell - Emporia GOA (5 new members)

    Top of page

 Spade Club Award: 2012 
Recognition of club with most members qualifying for the Spade Award.
    GOA Overland Park (4 spade winners)
 Trowel Awards:  2012
For recruiting new members who renew for a 2nd year.
     Karen L. Clark - GOA Overland Park
     John Lloyd - Gardeners of Van Wert County
     Amby Stevenson - Richmond Height GC
     Charlene Wetzsteon - GOA Overland Park

 Trowel Club Award: 2012
Recognition of club with most members qualifying for the Trowel Award.
    GOA Overland Park (2 trowel winners)
Silver Medal:
Recognition for a member of TGOA/MGCA who has rendered outstanding service to the national organization, The Gardeners of America, Inc. / The Men's Garden Clubs of America, Inc.

Top of page    

Woodson K. Jones Memorial Award:   2012
To an affiliated TGOA/MGCA club in recognition of projects and outstanding service to the community and TGOA/MGCA.

Overland Park GOA - 190 points

Top of page                                                                            

Best when viewed with IE7.01 or above.

Copyright © 2002-2017. All rights reserved.
         The Gardeners Of America/Men's Garden Clubs of America.
No part of this website may be reproduced, stored in a retrieval system,
or transmitted in any form by any means without prior written permission.  Requests for permission may be submitted to